To add an existing filter to a dashboard, click on the Filters ribbon right below the dashboard name:
Under the menu that shows up, click the gear icon at the top right to bring up a list of all existing filters.
If a filter belongs to the "Hidden" list, checking its box will move it onto the dashboard. The filter will show up within the Filter ribbon and will be found in the "Visible" list.
To move and order the filters on a dashboard, go to the same gear icon. From here, drag-and-drop the filters in the "Visible" list into the order prefered.
To remove a filter from the dashboard without deleting it, click the gear icon and deselect the checkbox associated with that filter in the "Visible" list. The filter will be removed from the dashboard and moved to the "Hidden" list.
Filters can also be hidden from that specific filter's setting menu. Hover over the filter in question and click on the individual filter's pencil icon.
Click Hide, and the filter will be removed from the dashboard but will not be deleted.
To delete a filter completely from the site, click the Filter's pencil icon at the right-hand corner to open the Filter editor, and choose 'More Options'. Check the box labeled 'Enable Deletion' and hit 'Delete' to permanently remove this filter from all dashboards.
Filters that are visible to shared or embedded dashboards cannot be hidden or deleted from the dashboard unless they are first removed from the shared dashboards.
Note: Users must have edit permissions on the dashboard in order to add and remove filters.