Periscope Data Documentation

Connecting to Periscope

First Time Connecting

Connection Definitions

Common Connection Errors

Private Network SSH Tunnels

Integrations

Overview

Getting Started

Keyboard Shortcuts

Charts & Dashboards

Chart Overview

Chart Options

Dashboard Overview

Refresh Mechanics

Organizing Charts

Organizing Dashboards

Table-like Charts

Table Overview

Cohort Grids

Pivot Tables

Graph-like Charts

Overview & General Settings

Chart Types and Settings

Mixing Chart Types

Map Charts

Map Chart Overview

Heatmaps

Clusters and Bubbles

Satellite Maps

GeoJSON

Other Charts & Customizations

Pie Charts

Image Charts

Chart Annotations

Site Administration

Adding Users

Removing Users

User Types

User Groups

Two-Factor Authentication

Managing User Permissions

Dashboard Permissions

Site Preferences

Query Management

Color Themes

Dashboard Refresh Management

Usage Data

Periscope Cache

Caching Strategies

Querying the Periscope Cache

Cross-Database Joins

CSV Upload

Materializing Views

SQL Formatters

Using SQL Formatters

Composing SQL Formatters

Dollars and Percentages

Time Zone Formatters

Date Aggregation

Date Parts

Basic Filters

Custom Filters

Date Range Filters

Aggregation Filter

Adding, Moving, and Hiding Filters

Advanced Filters

Default Filters

Drilldowns

Parent-Child Filters

Matching Filter Values

Time Zone Conversions

Direct Replacement

User Friendly Names

Views

SQL Views

Joining to Views

More SQL Tools

SQL Snippets

Parameterized SQL Snippets

SQL Alerts

Automatic Joins

Sharing and Embedding

Sharing Dashboards Externally

Email Reports

Easy Embedding

Embed API

Embed API Options

Public CSV URL

Slack API

Slack Linking Reports

Data Management

Adding and Deleting Datasource

Spaces: Data-Level Permissions

Improving Query Throughput

Revoking Table Permissions

Salesforce Datasource

Schema Browser

SSO Integrations

Overview

Okta

OneLogin

Google Apps

Managing User Permissions

User groups let you manage you users' view and edit permissions easily. Admins can quickly set up different user types by modifying the user groups that users belong to and the settings of those groups.

To view and modify existing user group settings, administrators can head to the settings menu in the bottom left hand corner.

Once you are in the Settings Menu, click the Permissions option:

Admins can then select "Groups" from the dropdown.

Default User Types

The first user added to the account is an administrator. This user will be automatically added to the built-in Administrators and All Users user groups. Subsequent users will be automatically added to All Users only. Due to these default groups and group settings, the first user will be an administrator and subsequent users will be write-access users.

Creating User Types

Admin

To create an admin, an existing admin can add the user to the Administrators user group.

Write-access user

A user is a write-access user if they belong to at least one group that has edit permissions. This means that they belong to at least one user group that has the "Can Edit" column checked in the Group Settings.

By default, the All Users group has edit permissions, making all users write-access users. This can be modified as shown in the section below.

Read-only user

A user is a read-only user if they do not belong to any groups that have edit permissions. In order to create a read-only user, the All Users group must not have edit permissions. Hovering over the group will cause a Gear Icon to appear on the right.

Clicking the gear will make the "Can Edit" section editable for the group. Unchecking the box ensures that new users will be read-only.