The Preferences Menu contains a series of site wide options that give Periscope administrators control over the default settings on their site.
To open the Preferences Menu, first click the Site Settings gear icon at the bottom of the left hand navigation bar.
After that, select the “Preferences” option.
The Preferences Menu contains options that affect dashboards, chart, and filter behavior, as well as the site time zone.
The time zone dropdown list contains all time zones that are currently supported by Periscope. These will affect the time at which emailed dashboards are sent, as well as the time zone utilized by the date range filter. Scheduled SQL Alerts and cache updates will always be in UTC.
Our Time Zone Conversions Documentation details how the site time zone will affect the date range filter.
The dashboard that is selected in the “Dashboard shown at login” dropdown list will be the first dashboard that new users see upon their first login to Periscope.
By default, all new dashboards will be visible and editable by the “All Users” group. By switching off the "New dashboards are editable by all users" option, new dashboards will only be viewable and editable by the creator of the dashboard and the administrators group.
To prevent any user from externally sharing dashboards, the “Users can create shared dashboards” option can be switched off. This will prevent users from creating shared links and will remove the “Shared Dashboards” option from the Dashboard Preferences menu. All previously created shared dashboard links will no longer function. If the “Users can create shared dashboards” option is then switched back on, the previously created links will again be valid.
Email Reports can be turned off by toggling the last option, "Users can send email reports". This will discontinue any currently scheduled emails and remove the Email Reports option from the Dashboards Preferences menu. While email reports are turned off, Periscope does not clear the pre-configured settings for the reports. If email reports are re-enabled, the previously configured email report settings will still be in place and will again take effect.
In the preferences menu, admins can determine whether users can access data using the public CSV URL. Turning off this option will disable CSV URL access site-wide.
Users can also download CSV data from shared and embedded dashboards by default using the “Download CSV” option in the chart menu. To disable this functionality across all shared and embedded dashboards, the “Users can download chart data on shared and embedded dashboards” switch can be turned off.
Note: Additional CSV Features are a security add-on. Please contact your Sales Executive or the Periscope Data Support team for additional information.
Switching the "Charts are created with CSV downloads enabled" option to off will set the "Enable CSV Downloads From Chart" checkbox on each newly created chart to unchecked by default. All existing charts that already have the "Enable CSV Downloads From Chart" feature activated will not be affected by toggling the switch.
In the "Users that can control CSV downloads on charts" dropdown list, the user permission level that has access to enable/disable CSV downloads is defined with the options "Edit Users", "Administrators", and "None". Any user accessing the chart editor that has the appropriate permission level will be able to modify the "Enable CSV Downloads From Chart" option within the chart editor. If the "None" option is selected, the "Enable CSV Downloads From Chart" checkbox will not be visible to any users.
The "Users that can expose public CSV URLs on charts" dropdown list allows admins to define the user permission level that is required to active public CSV URLs on charts. If the "None" option is selected in this dropdown, the public CSV URL option will not be visible to any users within the chart editor.
When new filters are created in Periscope, they will be visible on all newly created dashboards. In order to make new filters hidden on newly created dashboards by default, the “New filters are available on all dashboards by default” option can be switched off.
The "Refresh unaffected charts when applying dashboard filter" switch determines which charts are refreshed when dashboard filters are changed. When this option is switched on, all charts on a dashboard will refresh when that dashboard's filters are adjusted. This ensures all charts on the dashboard have updated data instead of only those that reference the changed filters. When the "Refresh unaffected charts when applying dashboard filter" is switched off, only charts that include filter that were adjusted will refresh upon filter change -- all other charts will not update.
Users with the color theme add-on can create custom color palettes here to be applied at the site-, dashboard-, and chart-level.