Managing User Permissions

👤 This documentation is intended for Site Administrators. Site Administrators for instances with Periscope Spaces should also refer to the Spaces documentation when configuring access for cross-space user groups. Users who would like to request higher levels of access to their Periscope instance must reach out to their site administrator.

User groups let Admins manage their users' view and edit permissions easily. Admins can quickly set up different user types by modifying the user groups that users belong to and the settings of those groups.

To view and modify existing user group settings, administrators can first click Settings menu in the bottom left hand corner.

Then, click the Permissions option:

Admins can then select "Groups" from the dropdown.

Default User Types

The first user added to the account is an administrator. This user will be automatically added to the built-in Administrators and All Users user groups. Subsequent users will be automatically added to All Users only. Due to these default groups and group settings, the first user will be an administrator and subsequent users will be write-access users.

Creating User Types

Permissions in Periscope Data are maintained through User Groups. Users can be a part of different groups with varying levels of access. Users will have the highest level of access afforded to them by any individual group that they are a member of. Details on each level of access can be found on the User Types documentation.

Admin

To create an admin, an existing admin can add the user to the Administrators user group.

SQL User

A user can create SQL and Discovery charts if they belong to at least one group that has SQL access. The level of access is specified in the second column of the table in the "Groups" Permissions menu,

By default, the All Users group has SQL access, granting all users the ability to create and edit SQL and Discovery charts. This can be modified as shown below.

Discovery User

A user can create and edit Discovery charts if they belong to at least one group that has Discovery access. This means that they belong to at least one user group with "Discovery" in the Access column in the Group Settings.

The Discovery access level is only visible on instances with the Data Discovery feature. Site administrators interested in enabling the Data Discovery feature can reach out to their Customer Success Manager,

View user

A user cannot access any underlying SQL or the Data Discovery interface if they do not belong to any groups that have SQL or Discovery access. To create a read-only user, the All Users group must not have SQL or Discovery access, and the user must not be a member of any Discovery or SQL Groups. Hovering over the group will cause a Gear Icon to appear on the right.

Clicking the gear will make the Access filed editable. Selecting "View" makes the group View only.

Looking for More?

Refer to the documentation below for:

Our support team is ready to help