Data-Level Permissions (Spaces)

👤 This documentation is intended for Site Administrators.

Data-Level permissions or Spaces allow users to create multiple environments within a Periscope site. This feature can be managed by connecting different databases or database users to each space. Admins can then control permissions at both a database and user level.

Note: Spaces are an add-on feature. Site administrators can contact their Account Manager for additional information.

Creating a Space

Once Spaces have been turned on for a site, click the Spaces menu in the sidebar. Once a new space has been created, this menu allows for easy navigation between each Space. To create a new Space, click the green plus-sign in the upper-right hand corner of the pop-up.

Add a name to the new Space and click "Create". This will create a new space and prompt the user for a new database connection.

Database Permissions

Upon creation, new Spaces do not carry over anything from the initial configuration, including database connections. Admins can add the same database connected on the Main space, and can do so with either the same or a different user. This allows for multiple database users with different permissions to be connected to different spaces at the same time.

Entirely new databases can be connected to the space by following our documentation page on setting up connections.

For more information regarding the security of Spaces, please see Sharing Dashboards With External Users.

Spaces Permissions

To access the Directory, first click the Settings menu at the bottom of the left hand navigation bar. Then, click on Directory under Account Settings.

The Directory allows site administrators to view and add spaces, users, and groups at a high-level:

Removing a Space

To delete a Space, click on the gear icon for that Space in the Directory and click "Remove".

As an extra layer of security, the admin will be required to type in the name of the Space.

Note: Avoid deleting the default space. Deleting the default space can lead to access issues, particularly for sites with SSO enabled. The default space can be found under the Billing and Authentication page found under the Settings menu at the bottom of the left hand navigation bar.

Our support team is ready to help