Periscope Data Documentation

Connecting to Periscope

First Time Connecting

Connection Definitions

Common Connection Errors

Private Network SSH Tunnels

Integrations

Overview

Getting Started

Keyboard Shortcuts

Charts & Dashboards

Chart Overview

Chart Options

Dashboard Overview

Refresh Mechanics

Organizing Charts

Organizing Dashboards

Table-like Charts

Table Overview

Cohort Grids

Pivot Tables

Graph-like Charts

Overview & General Settings

Chart Types and Settings

Mixing Chart Types

Map Charts

Map Chart Overview

Heatmaps

Clusters and Bubbles

Satellite Maps

GeoJSON

Other Charts & Customizations

Pie Charts

Image Charts

Chart Annotations

Site Administration

Adding Users

Removing Users

User Types

User Groups

Two-Factor Authentication

Managing User Permissions

Dashboard Permissions

Site Preferences

Query Management

Color Themes

Dashboard Refresh Management

Usage Data

Periscope Cache

Caching Strategies

Querying the Periscope Cache

Cross-Database Joins

CSV Upload

Materializing Views

SQL Formatters

Using SQL Formatters

Composing SQL Formatters

Dollars and Percentages

Time Zone Formatters

Date Aggregation

Date Parts

Basic Filters

Custom Filters

Date Range Filters

Aggregation Filter

Adding, Moving, and Hiding Filters

Advanced Filters

Default Filters

Drilldowns

Parent-Child Filters

Matching Filter Values

Time Zone Conversions

Direct Replacement

User Friendly Names

Views

SQL Views

Joining to Views

More SQL Tools

SQL Snippets

Parameterized SQL Snippets

SQL Alerts

Automatic Joins

Version History

Sharing and Embedding

Sharing Dashboards Externally

Email Reports

Easy Embedding

Embed API

Embed API Options

Public CSV URL

Slack API

Slack Linking Reports

Data Management

Adding and Deleting Datasource

Spaces: Data-Level Permissions

Improving Query Throughput

Revoking Table Permissions

Salesforce Datasource

Schema Browser

SSO Integrations

Overview

Okta

OneLogin

Google Apps

User Groups

User groups are a great way to control user permissions and access within Periscope. Only admins can set up user groups, change user group permissions, and add and remove users from user groups.

Defaults

Group Assignment Defaults

Each account has two built-in user groups: Administrators and All Users. The first user added to the account will be an administrator, and this user will be automatically added to Administrators and All Users groups. Subsequent users are added to All Users only.

Group Permission Defaults

By default, both the Administrators and All Users groups have write access, allowing newly added users to easily create dashboards, views, and contribute to data analyses.

Creating and Removing User Groups

Creating a User Group

From the Dashboard, click the gear icon to access account settings:

Select "Groups" from the dropdown in the Permissions tab to access all groups:

Click "Add Group" to create a new user group. This provides an area to enter the group name and determines if the group has edit privileges.

Removing a User Group or Editing Group Name

Hovering over a group name causes a gear to appear on the right-side of the row. Clicking on the gear icon will show an image similar to the one below:

"Edit" will update the group name, while "Remove" will remove the group entirely. The Admin and All Users groups are unable to be edited or deleted.

Adding and Removing Users from Groups

Clicking on a group opens a new panel on the right-side of the screen. This panel is broken up into two sections: one for the users in the group and one for the dashboard privileges for the group.

The pencil icon in the top-right corner of the "Users" section allows admins to quickly search for, add, or remove users to the selected group.

The same behavior can be performed from the "Users" dropdown of the Permissions tab.